Secret Cubists in their Cubicles

cubist-paintingI couldn’t resist posting this despite a busy day at work!

I walked into one of the conference rooms and saw this palimpsest created out of the deliberations of numberless meetings, TOO MANY of which I have been a part of.

It looked HIGHLY cubist to me. Reminded me of Braque’s painting above and ‘Nude Descending a Staircase, by Duchamp.

20140121_131732

SORRY I’M LATE – a collaborative work by the folks at my workplace ๐Ÿ™‚

At the risk of stretching the metaphor, Cubism was partly about adding the dimension of passage of time to painting. It was competing with the nascent and emerging medium of film.

What better motif to have in a room where the speedy passage of time is often the most primary concern!

I call it ‘Sorry I’m Late’, a collaborative piece of performance art, mixed media, marker on whiteboard.

๐Ÿ™‚

20140121_131935

The ‘studio’ where this piece of performance art was created ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

